B207 Ecotec Saab Engine swap

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Heypacha

Heypacha

• Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 07:02 PM

I just found an extremely cheap Saab 9-3 with a b207. The car had a rear end collision and is sold for 400 euros complete. At the moment I don't plan to change my engine, but I may crave for more power latter on. As I understand the b207 is a better candidate for a swap than the z20let, it's lighter, newer and the turbo can be swapped for a charger. From the post on this forum I understand that if I decide to swap it I'll need a different harness and ecu, probably from the lsj engine. Will the gearbox from the vx220 NA fit the b207? Is the turbo a viable option or it will require too much cutting? I prefer a supercharged engine to a turbocharged one and with lsj bits (ecu, wiring, charge cooler, charger) the b207 could be a great engine with 250hp without being to stressed. I'm new to the vx220/speedster/opel and it's highly probable that I presume to much. Any opinions welcomed.

Edited by Heypacha, 05 February 2013 - 07:05 PM.

#2 ultimate

ultimate

• PipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 07:09 PM

I am driving a B207 since December. Hitec in Germany is selling some of this engines brand new and with many parts for fitting the engine in z22se-cars. One part of this is an external trigger-wheel for the rpm-sensor. With this, the engine can be used with z22se electronics...

#3 Heypacha

Heypacha

• Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 07:12 PM

Thanks Ultimate, Is your car turbocharged or supercharged?

#4 Exmantaa

Exmantaa

Scary Internerd

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,982 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 07:26 PM