Photo

New Plastic Diffuser, Perfect Fit, Oem Style

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Steppenwolf1980

Steppenwolf1980

• Pip
  • 122 posts
  • Interests:Track Days, driving in the Alps, sports.

Posted 23 May 2016 - 08:59 AM

Hi guys,

maybe some remember my first project in 2008, where I designed and produced aluminium diffusers matching the VX's design. I also sold some here. What still annoyed me over all the years was that due to the wobbly aluminium, there was always a gap between the metal sheet and the rear clam. Also, the diffusers looked way too filigrane.

Since I am an industrial designer and now have connections to companies with 3D scanners and CNC mills, I developed a new diffuser during winter and spring. My main goal was to make a part that can be installed free of gaps and remains on the clam when you have to work in the engine bay from below. I took 3D scans of my Speedster and used the data for 3D modelling to achieve that perfect fit. I had a prototype milled and laminated it over by hand to test the fit and the new mountings on my car. As you can see on the last picture (the white-pink diffuser), it worked out great. Unfortunately, this prototype would have been way too expensive to be copied, since it is hand laminated due to its form. Also I found it then a bit too bulky and not OEM style looking. That's why I took all the proven data according shape and fit to redesign it as a one piece vacuum forming plastic part, which is of course a bit smaller and less aggressive, but way cheaper to make and looking like a factory part.

Since you can imagine that the form costs are quite high, please excuse that I can only show computer renderings and photoshop fakes at this point. Producing this diffuser only makes sense for at least 10 pieces, that's why I am currently looking if there are some people interestend in having one. Here are the pictures (click to enlarge):

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image