• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 UH Project VX220

UH Project VX220

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 October 2017 - 12:46 PM

Hi All,

My name is Alex - I'm currently studying Automotive Engineering With Motorsport at the University of Hertfordshire in Hatfield.

Last year I spotted three VX220's in our university car park and did a bit of digging - they'd been sat for nearly five years without turning a wheel! This year, I've started a new project at the university to convert one of them into an endurance racing car to compete in the 750MC Club Enduro (so two hour races, one three hour race at Anglesey and a foray across to Spa) in 2018. I've spoken to a couple of people about these cars (Neville has been a great help to get the project going, and DS racing have helped too) so have a basic idea of their shortcomings but any tips will be massively helpful!

There are fifteen of us working on the car, all running our own projects that make up dissertations so it should be a competitive car by the end of the project! We've got to get as close to 300bhp/tonne as possible, but I'm also aware that braking, cooling and fuel capacity are just some of the things that we'll struggle with.

We've got a pretty slim build budget from the Uni too, so it's up to us to gather as much sponsorship as possible. So we've pulled in a few but I'm shamelessly going to suggest that if anyone here is interested in helping us out I'm more than happy to talk about the project at length!

I will start a build thread soon too - there are some interesting ideas and concepts going into this car, so I'm sure we'll need some pointers from those with VX experience...

We've also got a Facebook Page, UH Project VX220, and an Instagram Page, @uhvx220, so give us a follow to see how we're getting on!

I guess that's all for now - it's really a hello and a short intro to the project plan, I'm very excited to get it going!

Cheers,

Alex.

UH Project VX220.

#2 james_ly

james_ly