Just Bought Vx220 And Trying To Find Out About Vx220.org

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 richardm6994

richardm6994

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 October 2017 - 02:05 PM

As some of you may have seen from my previous post, I have just bought a VX and am very keen to get involved in the VX 'scene'.

So here's my question to members on here........is VX220.org a club or just a forum that has it's own FB page?

I see you have a £12 a year subscription, which suggest it might be a club, but unless I'm looking in the wrong place, I cannot see a club committee, annual agm dates etc....

Either way, I'm not wanting to ruffle any feather, I'm just trying to get my head around what the £12 subscription goes towards apart from unlocking a few more areas on the forum?

Do the funds go into a club bank account and spending controlled by an elected committee or does it end up in someone's bank account to do with whatever they wish......

My background is that I'm chairman of the UK kitcar club and we have a similar yearly subscription (£15 per year), a forum that looks very much like this one (IP Board) and we have about 500 fully paid members.

We have a committee of 7 people that is re-elected each year by the club members at our agm. Our aim is ensure the club income from membership subscriptions and advertising is spent given back to the members benefits for being club members....- i.e. club magazine, annual club show weekend, event funding for smaller shows etc.....

The club also entitles members to insurance discounts as well as discounts at suppliers (such as eurocarparts etc...).

Most importantly, our accounts are independently audited every year so the members can see exactly where every penny has been spent.

Like I said at the start, I'm not wanting to ruffle any feathers or cause any offence to anyone. I would just be interested to know how this club / forum is run, and where the £12 ends up.