Jump to content


Photo

Some Help With My Race Car


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 01 March 2019 - 03:35 PM

I’m going to race Opel speedster Turbo in a series called road sport in Sweden.
I’m bound to 5.3kg/hp limit

To avoid 15% calculated power increase I need to have my engine completely stock.

200hp x 5.3 gives me a racing weight of 1060kg so no need to eat less and loose weight ;)

1.
I need to check my Ecu so it’s not reprogrammed, I also would like to change some parameters that doesn’t increase the power like adjusting idle rpm etc.

Any idea what program that would allow me to do this?

2.
They want me to connect a female bnc for random check of my maximum rpm (I guess to see if I’m modifining for higher power/rpm)

Any idea we’re i could get this signal from?

/Rick

Link to my project ;)
https://www.facebook...ickaltzirasing/

#2 Aerodynamic

Aerodynamic

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,212 posts

Posted 01 March 2019 - 05:51 PM

Where in sweden are you located?

Br, Per

#3 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 02 March 2019 - 09:05 AM

Falkenberg

#4 siztenboots

siztenboots

    RaceMode

  • 26,372 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Surrey
  • Interests:french maids

Posted 02 March 2019 - 09:41 AM

I can help out with the ECU , do you have a Windows laptop?

 

You have a Garrett turbo fitted?



#5 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 03 March 2019 - 12:04 AM

I have some old laptops what OS do I need, or I’ll juts buy a new :) (Mac user since 10 years)
I guess garret is the original Turbo, nothing changed.

Edited by Altzi, 03 March 2019 - 12:04 AM.


#6 siztenboots

siztenboots

    RaceMode

  • 26,372 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Surrey
  • Interests:french maids

Posted 03 March 2019 - 12:13 PM

I can only see the pictures of the yellow VX , with the engine cutout , the turbo on that is not standard , it has a different manifold and turbo , it looks like something capable of 350-500 bhp

 

Windows XP or later is needed for the software to reprogram the ecu , my business is the software mapping. I can supply the cable and the maps.



#7 The Batman

The Batman

    Super Moderator

  • 29,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FLD mum's bed

Posted 03 March 2019 - 12:55 PM

out of curiosity

 

why are you changing the chassis? as it looks like you are working on the chassis that has had the panel in front of the tank cut and bolted in?



#8 siztenboots

siztenboots

    RaceMode

  • 26,372 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Surrey
  • Interests:french maids

Posted 03 March 2019 - 01:10 PM

its confusing , there are two yellow vx  , one red

#1 yellow one LHD , race roll cage being fitted and has nitron suspension and z20let being fitted

#2 yellow one RHD  , limited edition LY020

#3 red LHD turbo

 



#9 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 03 March 2019 - 10:11 PM

Hahaha, ok the red is my going to the beach eating ice cream car, the VX220 LY I bought in England to race with, then I came over a yellow speedster Turbo just like my red one and decided to sell the VX and continue to build a race car from the yellow turbo.

About the picture with the large turbo it’s borrowed from Dave Hardwick who makes the “service hatch” ;)

My engine is original but there was a bigger inter cooler and 3” exhaust which makes me think the ECU got some treatment ;)

Don’t know if it makes more sense now or I just made you more confused ;)

Edited by Altzi, 03 March 2019 - 10:19 PM.


#10 The Batman

The Batman

    Super Moderator

  • 29,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FLD mum's bed

Posted 03 March 2019 - 10:27 PM

i meant why is there 2 massive plates here

 

5vgmDvz.jpg



#11 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 03 March 2019 - 10:46 PM

When the car was about 3 yers old it was involved in an accident and has been repaired about 14 years ago. The subframe fittings are a bit off, I got a replacement chassis and subframe with the car but it doesn’t make much sense changing it when it’s going to be a track car.

Edited by Altzi, 03 March 2019 - 10:47 PM.


#12 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 03 March 2019 - 10:51 PM

Any suggestion which dampers to use before I can afford Öhlins ;) I have one set of nitron and one set of quantum simple once with adjuster for compression and rebound in the same knob. But until I’m a better driver than those dampers I will use them.

#13 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 03 March 2019 - 11:32 PM

I can only see the pictures of the yellow VX , with the engine cutout , the turbo on that is not standard , it has a different manifold and turbo , it looks like something capable of 350-500 bhp

Windows XP or later is needed for the software to reprogram the ecu , my business is the software mapping. I can supply the cable and the maps.


Ok, I have a usb to obd2 cable but I’m not sure it’s compatible with your program, so first I need to get the original software into the Ecu, then if it’s possible do edits to non power increaseing parameters.

#14 Altzi

Altzi

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 04 March 2019 - 06:33 PM

https://www.dropbox.....21.09.png?dl=0

Picture of the turbo k04-025?

Edited by Altzi, 04 March 2019 - 06:35 PM.


#15 The Batman

The Batman

    Super Moderator

  • 29,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FLD mum's bed

Posted 04 March 2019 - 06:50 PM

quantums or nitrons will do, both very similar imo

 

more important is the spring rates






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users