Jump to content


Photo

Obd Tuner Secondary Lambda


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 markanswrth

markanswrth

    Member

  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire

Posted 19 May 2019 - 07:23 AM

I've been having a couple of issues with the 2nd lambda so I went to change it yesterday. Long story short the thread in the hole is damaged which means I couldn't fit a new sensor. I didn't want to remove the whole exhaust to sort the thread (its a 3inch system so is rather tight!), so I put the old sensor back in and just didn't plug it in.

 

I took the car for a drive and was suspecting error codes all over the place but it seemed fine. The only problem I had was a slight hesitation/misfire on one 3rd gear pull, but I think this is a mapping issue that is separate.

 

I did think you could just disable the 2nd lambda reading, although the OBDtuner manual specifically says that the 2nd sensor is required.

 

Any advice? Can I get away with this or do I need to either sort the exhaust or make a 'cheater' 

 

 



#2 gertje

gertje

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 19 May 2019 - 08:10 AM

Thé second lambasonde delete is only in obdtuner pro.


Verstuurd vanaf mijn ONEPLUS A6003 met Tapatalk



#3 smiley

smiley

    Thetan level 15

  • 9,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 19 May 2019 - 08:45 AM

Yes, you can disable the second lambda in obdtuner.

The wiring still has to be intact though, as internally it checks for that.

 



#4 markanswrth

markanswrth

    Member

  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire

Posted 19 May 2019 - 09:35 AM

yea I'm aware that you have to delete it in OBDtuner pro but I don't really need/want to upgrade. The question is why is it not raising a code when the sensor is it not plugged in at all? Or is it just a matter of time before it does?



#5 smiley

smiley

    Thetan level 15

  • 9,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 19 May 2019 - 09:47 AM

It is also available in standard obdtuner.

Maybe allready active?

 



#6 markanswrth

markanswrth

    Member

  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire

Posted 19 May 2019 - 10:03 AM

Ah thought it was pro only. I will plug it in and check later.

#7 gertje

gertje

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 19 May 2019 - 05:46 PM

Sorry i was wrong thé normal obd tuner has also this functionPosted Image

Verstuurd vanaf mijn ONEPLUS A6003 met Tapatalk



#8 markanswrth

markanswrth

    Member

  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire

Posted 19 May 2019 - 08:34 PM

Just checked and it wasn't disabled but I've disabled it now so it should be all goo. Cheers



#9 2-20

2-20

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,161 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 19 May 2019 - 10:28 PM

From my understanding, without Obdtuner pro, it disables the control of lambda results but it doesn't disable the sensor itself...
So it still needs to be connected.

#10 jimn

jimn

    Member

  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:south yorks

Posted 22 May 2019 - 11:07 PM

From my understanding, without Obdtuner pro, it disables the control of lambda results but it doesn't disable the sensor itself...
So it still needs to be connected.


This is my understanding aswell.
Just to add that as it was described to me, The lambda heater circuit has to be functional or the eml will come on. Even with the “secondary lambda disabled”.
I don’t know why. As it makes more sense to allow for you to completely remove the lambda after cat (so you can fit a wideband permanently) but it seems the sole purpose of the option in obd tuner is to negate the check for a cat rather than check for a sensor..

I think you can just plumb in the original lambda heater circuit and then run the wideband signal down whichever avenue you wish (I can’t remember off hand whether that’s down the lambda wires or the egr?)
And that will keep the eml off and allow a wideband to be installed in the after car lambda whole.
Just remember the old after cat lambda is gonna get hot so it needs mounting somewhere where it can’t burn anything.

#11 Exmantaa

Exmantaa

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2019 - 11:18 PM

The ecu uses the 2nd sensor for some sanity control functions. You can run catless in OBD and therefore the cat delete option, but 2nd sensor must be present for the sanity checks.

Think only in Pro you can delete it completely



#12 markanswrth

markanswrth

    Member

  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire

Posted 23 May 2019 - 08:06 AM

For everyones information I have been running without a secondary lambda (not even plugged in) for 50miles or so with it just disabled in OBD Tuner (normal not Pro). So far it appears that you can get away without it at all.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users