17 replies to this topic

#1 coldel

coldel

Need to get Out More

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,183 posts

Posted 22 May 2019 - 01:30 PM

...take the car on a track.

Some mates of mine who I did a Euro road trip with last year are looking to get all the cars together again and do a track day and a night over for beers. I said I wouldn't track my car, but given how much it has to give I am tempted to actually do it.

I am a complete noob, never tracked my own car before only done the experience day things with an instructor next to me. Guess the question is what do I need to do to my car before tracking it, at the moment it has nearly new Kumho tyres, decent amount of pad left on the brakes which I believe are a form of Mintex (will need to check what ones) - I have read about rear toe links fragility, I think mine are original spec. What else should I consider?

#2 Johnboyhgt

Johnboyhgt

Billy No Mates

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,311 posts
  • Interests:Girls, Tracks, Mods

Posted 22 May 2019 - 02:14 PM

Toe links for spitfire ones

brake fluid change - Ate type 200 from euro car parts is good price/performance compromise

Helmet

Consider a starter track - I highly recommend Blyton park

Are you Richmond Yorkshire ?

If so pm me your phone number i will add you to our Yorkshire track day group

#3 WrightStuff

WrightStuff

i am sheldon cooper

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 22 May 2019 - 02:23 PM

Toe links
Hub Carrier bolts
Brake fluid flush
ABS disable
Gearbox breather
Trackday insurance

#4 coldel

coldel

Need to get Out More

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,183 posts

Posted 22 May 2019 - 02:24 PM

Richmond Surrey unfortunately, so a fair way from most of the tracks. The lads are all northerners (Manchester, Leeds etc.) so will be probably doing a track in the midlands or north east. Will be a long day though in the car.

#5 coldel

coldel

Need to get Out More

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,183 posts

Posted 22 May 2019 - 02:25 PM

Toe links
Hub Carrier bolts