Jump to content


Photo

Info Install Garw Dash


  • Please log in to reply
94 replies to this topic

#61 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 13 June 2020 - 11:40 AM


I’m in a similar position unfortunately, sent my dash back for repairs just over a month ago, due to a faulty batch of memory that apparently was causing the white screen on boot up issue I was experiencing. I understand the guy is really busy, just a quick email reply confirming some kind of timescale would be appreciated. I’m not in a big rush or anything, but it would still be good to know roughly when I will get the thing back.

#62 C8RKH

C8RKH

    Super Duper Member

  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 June 2020 - 01:05 PM

I'm finally getting around to installing my Garw 8" - it seems that a previous owner of the car thought it would be a good idea to freakin' well glue the binnacle cover to the metal hangar that the instruments screw on too.  Why the flying fcuk would you do something that stupid!  Took me an hour to get the bloody thing off...  Argh....



#63 martinroger

martinroger

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich

Posted 13 June 2020 - 02:04 PM

Glued binnacle is actually standard!

#64 C8RKH

C8RKH

    Super Duper Member

  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 June 2020 - 05:36 PM

Oh well, that's me told then. I thought they were held in with clips!  Something new learned. It was a bitch to get off though....You could get a couple kilo's of drugs under the dash behind that binnacle!  Found a folded up crisp packet that must have been at least 10 years old under there...

 

Anyways, Dash is in and worked fine on startup. I actually bought it when they first came out but have only know got round to fitting it...

 

https://photos.app.g...F1s6sVfrmQkBQc7

 



#65 martinroger

martinroger

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich

Posted 13 June 2020 - 06:15 PM

Binnacle looks a bit on the high side?

#66 C8RKH

C8RKH

    Super Duper Member

  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 June 2020 - 08:12 PM

Aye, it's just resting on the top at the moment. I'll tweak it tomorrow as I needed to get some other stuff done.



#67 C8RKH

C8RKH

    Super Duper Member

  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 14 June 2020 - 04:07 PM

So, binnacle in. All working. I emailed Garw today and got a response within 2 hours. So delighted with that as a level of service.

 

My binnacle (IC8) was bought early on in December 2017, but only now getting it in. I asked Garw re firmware levels and there seem to be several since mine was shipped so he is sending me the latest.

 

When you want to set the mileage, how do you know if it is in miles or kilometres?

 

Thanks



#68 paul_mck

paul_mck

    Member

  • Pip
  • 243 posts
  • Location:NI

Posted 15 June 2020 - 10:10 AM

set in km



#69 scw02102

scw02102

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent

Posted 15 June 2020 - 10:27 AM

Set it in KM and then you have the choice to display Km or miles.
It will convert it to miles automatically when you choose a dash with miles.

You set this in the options and it keeps a record of the last readings so you can see if you keep winding your mileage back lol
You can download the latest firmware from the website

#70 paul_mck

paul_mck

    Member

  • Pip
  • 243 posts
  • Location:NI

Posted 15 June 2020 - 11:17 AM

after all the negativity I had my car out on the first trackday since I fitted the garw and absolutely love it. 



#71 scw02102

scw02102

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent

Posted 15 June 2020 - 11:21 AM

Nothing wrong with the product at all

Just a response for the seller when you need support is all that required

Even if it’s only once a week. I have waited since Feb to get a my unit changed as it’s faulty still nothing

#72 paul_mck

paul_mck

    Member

  • Pip
  • 243 posts
  • Location:NI

Posted 15 June 2020 - 11:43 AM

oh totally mate, I get you. But for people waiting etc it is pretty sweet once its up and running



#73 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 16 June 2020 - 10:18 AM

Nothing wrong with the product at all
Just a response for the seller when you need support is all that required
Even if it’s only once a week. I have waited since Feb to get a my unit changed as it’s faulty still nothing



Alec got back to me about my repairs last night, so the guy is obviously trying to sort things out for people, but it looks like he has a lot to catch up with. The only obvious suggestion is to keep emailing him and hope you catch him at a good time.

#74 scw02102

scw02102

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent

Posted 16 June 2020 - 09:44 PM

Yup I got a reply to which is good.

Will be sending mine back for repair but at least he responded

#75 C8RKH

C8RKH

    Super Duper Member

  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 17 June 2020 - 07:52 AM

So as promised, GARW sent me the version 4.51 of the IC8 firmware. Given I bought the thing three years ago and only just getting around to fitting/using it I'm really impressed with the service to be honest. Love the display too.

 

I wonder if version 5.00 can give us some vector targeting and missile control screens from a TIE fighter complete with some R2D2 bleeps!



#76 martinroger

martinroger

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich

Posted 17 June 2020 - 08:26 AM

Is he not publishing the firmwares on his site anymore?

#77 martinroger

martinroger

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich

Posted 17 June 2020 - 08:28 AM

Could you PM me the firmware? It stops at 3.98 on the website for IC8

#78 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 17 June 2020 - 10:18 AM

Could you PM me the firmware? It stops at 3.98 on the website for IC8



Likewise please if you could, I don’t have the latest file for my IC8 either.

#79 C8RKH

C8RKH

    Super Duper Member

  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 17 June 2020 - 10:30 AM

 

Could you PM me the firmware? It stops at 3.98 on the website for IC8



Likewise please if you could, I don’t have the latest file for my IC8 either.

 

Surely yours will be returned with the latest levels? If not let me know and I'll send over.



#80 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 17 June 2020 - 01:25 PM


Could you PM me the firmware? It stops at 3.98 on the website for IC8


Likewise please if you could, I don’t have the latest file for my IC8 either.
Surely yours will be returned with the latest levels? If not let me know and I'll send over.

Hopefully it will, but it’s good to have the file too just in case I ever get stuck and need to re-flash it on.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users