Jump to content


Photo

Replacement Of Rivnuts In Boot / Rear Subframe


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tommobot

tommobot

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stratford Upon Avon

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:05 PM

I've had to cut a few of the bolts in the boot when getting the rear clam off, now all thats left is a bit of the tread and the rivnut itself, which in a few cases seem to spin freely within their hole.

Bit stuck on ways of getting them out for a kick off, so any input would be appreciated, and also if someone was able to point in the direction of suitable replacement rivnuts it would be fantastic :)

Also, was thinking about using this method for insertion of new rivnuts....

#2 FLD

FLD

    Batmans mum says 'I like things in my bum'

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Macclesfield
  • Interests:Tugging my todger.

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:10 PM

Angle grinder off the remaining stud then drill off the head of the rivnut. New ones from here:
http://www.memfast.co.uk/index.asp

#3 greasemonkey

greasemonkey

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockport
  • Interests:trackdays, golf, fishing, skiing, cycling and 10k runs

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:22 PM

Angle grinder off the remaining stud then drill off the head of the rivnut. New ones from here:
http://www.memfast.co.uk/index.asp

What material is best stainless or aluminium?

#4 FLD

FLD

    Batmans mum says 'I like things in my bum'

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Macclesfield
  • Interests:Tugging my todger.

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:24 PM

I put steel ones in mine.....I think. Careful with stainless as you dont want galvanic corrosion.

#5 tommobot

tommobot

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stratford Upon Avon

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:00 PM

Excellent! But there appears to be an awful lot of different type on that website!

Was thinking these?

http://www.memfast.c...?cat=2252000254

In M8 size?

#6 tommobot

tommobot

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stratford Upon Avon

Posted 03 January 2019 - 10:39 PM

Following on from this, is there a way that a few captive nuts could be welded on to subframe?

#7 sford

sford

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stratford-upon-Avon

Posted 04 January 2019 - 10:00 AM

I have a rivnut tool I bought for just this job when mine were all knackered. I'll see if I can find it tonight. Think it was only £15 ish on ebay to be honest. 



#8 FLD

FLD

    Batmans mum says 'I like things in my bum'

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Macclesfield
  • Interests:Tugging my todger.

Posted 04 January 2019 - 10:04 AM

Following on from this, is there a way that a few captive nuts could be welded on to subframe?


You could do this but you'd have to strip the galvanising first. Probably best to braze in the new nuts so that could be swapped out if the threads strip. Then you'd need to regalvanise the subframe. It would be a nice touch but it's a lot of effort to go to.

#9 Spitfire Engineering

Spitfire Engineering

    Super Duper Member

  • 690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Yorkshire

Posted 05 January 2019 - 05:25 PM

Following on from this, is there a way that a few captive nuts could be welded on to subframe?

 

A good quality steel rivnut correctly set should exceed the capacity of the bolt the same as a nut should.

unless it is for trim don't use ally, stainless is limited as well.

 

As these decay over time welding them on would seem to be not the best solution   :D  

 

What do the OE ones do in this position?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users