Jump to content


Photo

Headlight Gremlin - Anyone Have Any Idea's?

headlights head lights problem

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Ash

Ash

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portchester, Portsmouth
  • Interests:Relaxing and Holidaying in exotic places with my wife.<br /><br />Racing, defence related stuff, karting, seeing unusual wild-life while on holiday, sci-fi, Ufology.

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:27 AM

Hi All,

well, haven't been here for a while! :)

 

But I have a problem I'm hoping someone will have experience of, or idea's to help fix.

 

The headlight switch started playing up at the beginning of the year, sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't after pushing it a few times it nromally worked.  Then it completely stopped working. :(  So, I head to E-Bay and buy a new push button switch.  Fit it and the headlights worked.  :D

 

However, at a Trackday recently the switch stopped working again, resulting in a shortened day (need to get home before the sun set) and a disappointed Ash.  :(

 

Checked the Headlight switch again and after some fiddling pushed one of the wires at the back of the socket in a bit and it worked again.  Happy Ash  :)  That lasted about a week, before it stopped working again though.  So had a look this past weekend and no amount of fiddling with the wires in the back of the socket where the switch sits are making it work.

 

So, what to do?  Shall I try and drop a bit of solder down each hole where the wires go?  It's not the switch as this push switch works when in the sidelight socket.  It must be something to do with where the wire sits in the socket.  Unless there's a break somewhere between the wire-relay-fuse-headlights.  Which I hope isn't the case.

 

Anyone exprienced this before or got any idea's how to fix this, MOT time is coming up. :(

 

Cheers

Ash



#2 CHILL Gone DUTCH

CHILL Gone DUTCH

    I ADMIT BATMAN THINKS HE IS QUICKER THAN ME

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,727 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:37 AM

Have you got HIDs?? Do you have access to a electrical tester??

#3 fezzasus

fezzasus

    Whipping Boy

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:00 AM

The switches are from the Vectra and originally designed for lower use buttons such as AC and demisting, they're not designed to work regularly for 10+ years. It's likely that the switch has stopped latching, buy a new one.



#4 ghand

ghand

    Drunken lampposts only

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St helens merseyside
  • Interests:Whisky.Keeping reptiles.Cars.
    The odd bike ride, fell walk and weights
    Oh and more whisky

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:11 AM

Just swap it for the fog light switch for now, I did that temporary repair two years back :lol: well we all know how good the fog lights are right.

#5 mofish69

mofish69

    Member

  • Pip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wiltshire....... Devizes

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:14 AM

My headlight switch was playin up again at the weekend. They would work but then turn off on their own. A few clicks later and they come back on. I checked fuse was ok then removed relay and found that was the prob. Hopefully!!!

#6 Ash

Ash

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portchester, Portsmouth
  • Interests:Relaxing and Holidaying in exotic places with my wife.<br /><br />Racing, defence related stuff, karting, seeing unusual wild-life while on holiday, sci-fi, Ufology.

Posted 09 October 2013 - 10:58 AM

Thanks for the replies guys.  The switch I bought off E-Bay was a Vectra air-con switch, so should have less use in it.  The side light switch doesn't work in the socket, will try the fog light switch.

 

i don't have HIDs, but do have accesss to an electrical tester (it'll need to modded in order to reach the switch bank and the relay.

 

Hopefully, like mofish69 it'll be the relay, an easy fix, rather than a lot of buggering around.  :)



#7 CHILL Gone DUTCH

CHILL Gone DUTCH

    I ADMIT BATMAN THINKS HE IS QUICKER THAN ME

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,727 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 09 October 2013 - 11:03 AM

Just put your tester before and after switch Before and after relay And at the light fitting

#8 siztenboots

siztenboots

    RaceMode

  • 26,623 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Surrey
  • Interests:french maids

Posted 09 October 2013 - 11:07 AM

the switch is more like a toggle request to change the state of the relay , thats how the rear fog light "switch" turns itself off







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: headlights, head lights, problem

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users