Jump to content


Photo

Hi Newbie Here


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 17 April 2017 - 05:58 PM

Hi unfortunately I'm not a vx owner,
I do have a Zafira gsi
I've joined as I found a thread on here about a z28net conversion
Also there seems to be a wealth of knowledge on here too
I already have a gt3076r with a billet comp wheel which I was going to use on the z20let
But even with 10-1 c/r I don't think there was going to be enough torque for my liking in comparison to the a28net

#2 Nev

Nev

    Nipper's Minion

  • 9,587 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Emersons Green, Bristol.
  • Interests:Rock climbing, skiing, kayaking, surfing, mountaineering, practical engineering.

Posted 17 April 2017 - 09:45 PM

Z20LETs with turbos make too much torque if anything. A GTX3076 on one could make 500 ft/lb easily.



#3 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 17 April 2017 - 10:25 PM

Hi
I'm sorry I meant low down torque off boost,
I've read the nippers build a couple of times, great job


Also I'd like the car to be quiet and standard looking/still have a mongoose exhaust and crank vacuum to fit
And pre turbo water/meth to perfect

#4 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 18 April 2017 - 10:47 AM

Hi

I'm sorry I meant low down torque off boost,

I've read the nippers build a couple of times, great job



Also I'd like the car to be quiet and standard looking/still have a mongoose exhaust and crank vacuum to fit

And pre turbo water/meth to perfect


As a note for you you will need to use the F40 gearbox from the vectra vxr as the F23 doesn't fit the Z/A28NET. Also if you are considering it I would advise the Z28 as it only has two VVT cams not four like the A28. As I'm going standalone ECU it ended up costing 2200 just for the ECU because I'm going for the A28

#5 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 18 April 2017 - 06:02 PM

WOW!! £2200!!!!
I'm more tempted for the a28 now as vvt on all cams would help to smooth out the torque and run higher static compression
Also with the engine being over square it'd be nice to have it rev
Also be nice to have direct injection as I think the 3.6 in the states has it I think

First thing first being to get it in and running
Thank you for the response

#6 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 18 April 2017 - 07:35 PM

WOW!! £2200!!!!
I'm more tempted for the a28 now as vvt on all cams would help to smooth out the torque and run higher static compression
Also with the engine being over square it'd be nice to have it rev
Also be nice to have direct injection as I think the 3.6 in the states has it I think

First thing first being to get it in and running
Thank you for the response

 

no problem any help i can be feel free to ask.

I'm planning to use the crank front the 3.6 and using forged 3.6 rods to give it a longer stroke which is what the aussies did to make it a 3.2. then run the big turbo. there is another guy doing a Z28 twin turbo car swell. 

 

i know there is a guy on the VXR forum or one of the astra ones can't remember which. that put a Z28 in the back of an astra.



#7 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 18 April 2017 - 10:24 PM

Cool
Think I've come across stroking (read) about swapping cranks but iirc you may hit the oil spray jets?
Well that block lp9 was designed to go up to 4.0 so can't see it being too difficult, cost is another thing lol

So will you be getting titanium rods from the LF4 engine? I'm not sure of the interchangeability

Is there a reason you are not going for the direct injection?
It's amazing how high C/R one can use on a turbo charged DI engine specially with a good turbo manifold but I can see running out of space
Cheers,

#8 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 19 April 2017 - 08:34 AM

The blocks are identical. The 2.8 is the smallest bore and stroke then the 3.2,3.6 and 4.0 had the same longer stroke but the 3.6 had the 5mm other bored over the 2.8 and the 4.0 had larger again over the 3.6.

I'm going. To be getting forged rods from Australia probably. They've done a lot with the alloytec engine in the holdens for racing.

I could go DI but at the minute I'm going to stick with the standard set up with 1000cc injectors. Having the standalone if I decide to go DI later I will be able to quite easily.

Are you planning to put the engine in the Zafira? You should be good for space in one of them.

#9 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 19 April 2017 - 02:29 PM

Cheers

Yeah in a Zafira, standard turbo/ manifold shouldn't be a problem specially once ceramic coated for heat management
Ideally an equal length manifold space could be a problem, as not too keen on the burble from the standard set up

Aim is to have near 250ft lbs at 8k depending on cost of valve train and rods
Wavetrak do a diff for the f40 box so that's a plus
I still need to find out /try the Zafira B IDS suspension,if it fits then see if it will work with the vectra ecu
I'm dreading it

#10 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 19 April 2017 - 08:02 PM

If your aim is 250ft lbs then I'd choose a different engine :lol:

A Z28 with an insignia vxr turbo putting out around 350-400 will have around 500ft lbs of torque. The engines are proper torque making machines.

#11 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 20 April 2017 - 08:36 AM

I'm aiming low as yet to see the 2.8 have torque at 8k rpm
not found seen one that revs to 8k rpm yet,
I'm not the best of drivers so lol

#12 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 20 April 2017 - 10:40 AM

I think standard they rev to around 7600-7800.

#13 Nev

Nev

    Nipper's Minion

  • 9,587 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Emersons Green, Bristol.
  • Interests:Rock climbing, skiing, kayaking, surfing, mountaineering, practical engineering.

Posted 20 April 2017 - 11:20 AM

Aim is to have near 250ft lbs at 8k depending on cost of valve train and rods

 

250 ft/lb at 8000 RPM should be very easy on a V6 surely?

 

My 4 pot engine makes around 360 ft/lb at 8000 RPM with just a mid sized GTX30 turbo. With your extra 50% bangs per rev and a bigger turbo yours should easily be making more torque. The key will be a bigish turbo, good engine breathing, and the parts that actually allow it to safely rev that high.
 

If anything, the problem you will face is mapping the torque away (ie trying to reduce it to make the car drivable)!!

 

 


Edited by Nev, 20 April 2017 - 11:37 AM.


#14 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 20 April 2017 - 04:38 PM

I didn't know that,
I've googled some dyno graphs and checked what Courtney's could do with a standard car to get a rough idea of what kind of torque it has with a remap and can't recall seeing any making power up near there,

#15 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 20 April 2017 - 08:29 PM

Best bet is to go over to VXR online and have a chat with the vectra and insignia guys. There's some of them making decent power other option is Saab forums for the turbo x (same engine) they are making huge power.

#16 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 20 April 2017 - 08:32 PM

As a note aswell something I've discovered is bits for these engines are quite difficult to get hold of and very expensive!! A lot of the time your looking at getting it from the states or Australia.

I have a lot of websites saved for parts. But seems one of the best places to go is JZWtuning.

#17 Mk3vr6/24v

Mk3vr6/24v

    Newbie

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 21 April 2017 - 04:49 AM

As a note aswell something I've discovered is bits for these engines are quite difficult to get hold of and very expensive!! A lot of the time your looking at getting it from the states or Australia.

I have a lot of websites saved for parts. But seems one of the best places to go is JZWtuning.


Main thing is getting the lump and box in first running as it should with just the Garrett
I will just keep an eye out on your build

Are you fitting your gt35 to the standard manifold? Is it possible? And how will you have both the waste gates ?

#18 Mopeytitan

Mopeytitan

    Billy No Mates

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yeovil, Somerset
  • Interests:Cars, Motorbikes, well anything mechanical.
    My dogs (love my dogs).
    F1.

Posted 21 April 2017 - 06:27 AM

I'm making full custom tubular manifolds to run my Garret but you can get an adaptor (can't remember where from but I'll look it up for you) to allow you to run the standard manifolds with the garret turbo.

I'm going to be running external wastegates on mine, with a boost control solenoid to allow me to run multiple boost settings (high and low)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users