Jump to content


Photo

Brake Lights


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Johnny 89

Johnny 89

    Member

  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 27 April 2019 - 02:18 PM

Hi all, my brake lights are bot working and I was wondering what the issue could be.

I've replaced the bulbs but no joy there.. the rear lights themselves are working and it's the same bulb.

Anyone any thoughts?

Thanks
John

#2 Johnboyhgt

Johnboyhgt

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 27 April 2019 - 06:19 PM

None of the 3 working ?
Have you checked the fuse ?

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk



#3 Johnny 89

Johnny 89

    Member

  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 27 April 2019 - 07:24 PM

Yeah.. no brake lights working.. I checked all the fuses in the fuse box under the front bonnet. Is there another fuse box?

#4 Johnboyhgt

Johnboyhgt

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 27 April 2019 - 08:02 PM

Yes and no. But it would be in the front.
I would suspect a faulty brake light switch. As far as I remember it's next to the brake pedal. Best thing to do is to get a piece of wire and bridge the switch out.

If it then works you need a new switch.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk



#5 Johnny 89

Johnny 89

    Member

  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 27 April 2019 - 08:06 PM

Thanks for that.. I will check it out tomorrow when it's bright.. cheers

#6 Johnny 89

Johnny 89

    Member

  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 28 April 2019 - 11:03 AM

I just had a look under and I'm not 100% sure what I'm looking for really.. There is a small red box with wires coming from it near the brake pedal? Is this it?

Unfortunately my picture is too big to upload here.

#7 Johnboyhgt

Johnboyhgt

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 28 April 2019 - 02:04 PM

Hopefully this will help.

https://r.tapatalk.c...77&share_type=t

Your aim is to join the 2 wires up together. This will put the brake lights on if the rest of the circuit is ok.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk



#8 Johnny 89

Johnny 89

    Member

  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 28 April 2019 - 07:16 PM

Thanks.. so access through bonnet.. I'll try get to it. Cheers

#9 Johnboyhgt

Johnboyhgt

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 28 April 2019 - 07:44 PM

It says that it can also be inside the car in front of the pedal.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk



#10 Johnny 89

Johnny 89

    Member

  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 29 April 2019 - 09:12 AM

Cheers.. I'll take another look

#11 FLD

FLD

    Batmans mum says 'I like things in my bum'

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Macclesfield
  • Interests:Tugging my todger.

Posted 29 April 2019 - 11:23 AM

Its under the bonnet (an absolute swine to get at!). Fisrt thing to do is just give the wiring plug a wiggle. The terminals can corrode and give this problem, the wiggle just breaks the corrosion.

If you need a new switch its a ford part on my car.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users