Jump to content


Photo

Immobiliser Not Working


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 oblomov

oblomov

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sitting in front of my computer
  • Interests:None

Posted 04 May 2019 - 06:29 PM

I've done some minor electrical work on the VX (DRLs and hard wire front/rear camera).  This included disconnecting the battery.  I discovered yesterday that the immobiliser is not working.  I haven't actually tried to use it since last summer so I don't really know for sure when it stopped working.  Battery change to the fob has made no difference.

 

Suggestions welcome.

 

Thanbks  ob



#2 Richard Hoogeveen

Richard Hoogeveen

    Member

  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 04 May 2019 - 06:36 PM

Did you try another key ? And if so move the other out of the way.

#3 Exmantaa

Exmantaa

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,849 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 May 2019 - 11:07 PM

Immobiliser is a chip in key and the fob is for the alarm (an not connected to the car ecu)... What stopped working?



#4 oblomov

oblomov

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sitting in front of my computer
  • Interests:None

Posted 05 May 2019 - 12:09 AM

Immobiliser is a chip in key and the fob is for the alarm (an not connected to the car ecu)... What stopped working?


Ah, in that case when I press the fob the alarm does not set (tried another key).

Edited by oblomov, 05 May 2019 - 12:10 AM.


#5 oblomov

oblomov

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sitting in front of my computer
  • Interests:None

Posted 08 May 2019 - 07:43 PM

So still no joy with my alarm.  Fuse 13 is OK.  The alarm sounded twice for the full 4.5 minutes when I was messing about with the electrics and wouldn't disarm with the fob, but still unable to find the problem.


Edited by oblomov, 08 May 2019 - 07:49 PM.


#6 oblomov

oblomov

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sitting in front of my computer
  • Interests:None

Posted 09 May 2019 - 08:50 AM

So things just got worse.  Indicators were working so I tried the hazard switch which didn't work and then no indicators at all.  No blinking red light on the dash either.  Where is the relay for the indicators?

 

Thanks

 

ob.


Edited by oblomov, 09 May 2019 - 08:58 AM.


#7 Exmantaa

Exmantaa

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,849 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 May 2019 - 09:27 AM

Hmmm, I think the hazard light switch is somehow wired to/through the alarm unit, so these faults may be related...

 

Relay is at the backside of the lower alloy dash beam (where your knees are)

 

 



#8 oblomov

oblomov

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sitting in front of my computer
  • Interests:None

Posted 09 May 2019 - 12:06 PM

Hmmm, I think the hazard light switch is somehow wired to/through the alarm unit, so these faults may be related...

 

Relay is at the backside of the lower alloy dash beam (where your knees are)

Thanks for your help :) .  Checked everything out - no problems found but when I pulled checked and replaced the fuse (again), after  a couple of chirps suddenly everything was working properly.  Still no idea what the problem was.  :unsure:






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users