Jump to content


Photo

Vxt Wideband Installation Question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 20 August 2019 - 07:15 AM

  I am looking at fitting an AEM Wideband sensor and EUGO controller with CAN and 0-5v outputs on it.

 

  The thinking was that this could be connected to the Garw dash inputs to show real-time A/F ratios, but also I could fit it in place of the original narrow band sensor in the turbo down pipe and not have to weld in an additional sensor boss and run 2 sensors. I would just connect the correct 0-5v output to the original narrowband sensor wring and maybe a resistor in the original sensor heater circuit to avoid the EML coming on. 

 

  Has anyone else replaced the original sensor like this and has it worked OK? 



#2 Ormes

Ormes

    Scary Internerd

  • 4,556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Corsham (nr. Chippenham)

Posted 20 August 2019 - 08:28 AM

Obviously need to unsure lambda interaction is identical for the ecu to avoid EML and most importantly ensure fueling remains consistent.

#3 Nev

Nev

    Nipper's Minion

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol
  • Interests:Rock climbing, skiing, kayaking, surfing, mountaineering, budgies, chess, practical mechanics.

Posted 20 August 2019 - 08:50 AM

I would't remove your narrow band lamda sensor, your ECU needs it for idle and low RPM fuel calibration. :sleep:


Edited by Nev, 20 August 2019 - 08:55 AM.


#4 alexb

alexb

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 364 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the Netherlands

Posted 20 August 2019 - 09:38 AM

Keep in mind that the narrow band sensor switches faster than the wide band. I was advised against doing the same as you described for that reason. Just welded in a second bung. And a third one for EGT. The more bungs, the better  :happy:



#5 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 21 August 2019 - 07:13 AM

  Ok, I'll bear the switching speed/frequency in mind, I can't currenlty see the frequency of the AEM unit I have been looking at. Although it should have a compatible narrow band output from the controller, maybe I would be safer leaving the OEM once in place then.   



#6 Nev

Nev

    Nipper's Minion

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol
  • Interests:Rock climbing, skiing, kayaking, surfing, mountaineering, budgies, chess, practical mechanics.

Posted 21 August 2019 - 07:25 AM

From what I've read the narrow band output exactness from a wide band sensor is not as sharp, so you could get problems.

 

Just take your car to any exhaust fabricators with the floorpan off and they'll weld in a bung for you in 20 minutes for a few quid I'm sure. BTW, usually widebands usually need to be far down stream in the exhaust.



#7 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 22 August 2019 - 06:55 AM

From what I've read the narrow band output exactness from a wide band sensor is not as sharp, so you could get problems.

 

Just take your car to any exhaust fabricators with the floorpan off and they'll weld in a bung for you in 20 minutes for a few quid I'm sure. BTW, usually widebands usually need to be far down stream in the exhaust.

 

 

  It shouldn't take me long to weld a SS boss into the system, I was just aiming to simplify things by only having one sensor in one location. I do now recall that a wideband sensor likes to be a bit further away from the turbo to give it a decent life as you mention it needing to go further down stream, so 2 sensors it will be. 

                                                                         :happy:



#8 Chapelhill

Chapelhill

    Newbie

  • 4 posts
  • Location:Blairgowrie

Posted 22 August 2019 - 08:25 PM

I have put in wideband to replace first lambda sensor. The simulated lambda sensor output seems to work ok on my engine but I do get checklight due to heating circuit not connected.(wideband controller has its own heater control) Not sure if I will try and map it out on the ECU or fix it with resistor or similar. 

 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users