Jump to content


Photo

Replacing The Ecu And Having Issues

ecu fault codes reprogramming

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 den7

den7

    Newbie

  • 2 posts
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 29 February 2020 - 05:08 AM

Hi all, I'm a bit at sea trying to support my friend/neighbour with his VX220. We had an issue with an injector not firing which we traced to a faulty ECU. He recently received a new/refurbished ECU from:

 

https://www.ecutesti...nt/eem206274-c/

 

The ECU came reset

 

We have opcom software and I've attempted to program the ECU to the car (reprogramming  of the ECU was reported successful), but wound up with a couple of fault codes:

 

P1615 Wrong Vehicle ID from Body Control Module

P1616 Wrong Vehicle ID from Instrument Cluster

 

The car cranks, but will not start

 

I attempted to reprogram both the immobilizer and the ECU together to see if this would resolve the fault, but the errors persisted. 

 

I've had a good look search through the forums, and read the opcom guide, but I'm a bit lost and haven't come across this particular issue.

 

I have a feeling I'm doing something (probably very simple) wrong, but don't want to wind up making things worse. I'm located in NZ and the local dealership is no help as they don't have a clue what a VX220 is and don't appear to have the correct software to work with the vehicle according to my friend.

 

If someone could please provide me with the correct step by step procedure to code the ECU/Immobilizer to the vehicle or help with tracing this issue, that would be fantastic as I'm flying blind.


Edited by den7, 29 February 2020 - 05:09 AM.


#2 aquilaproejct

aquilaproejct

    Member

  • Pip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 29 February 2020 - 08:59 AM

G'day Mate,

Sorry to hear about your issues. I'm a Holden Engineer (for the next few months) and have talked a fellow kiwi through this already.

The Holden New Zealand dealers have access to the Opel / Vauxhall programming on Tis 2 Web. So while they aren't aware of the car, they do have access to everything they need.

I suspect the problem you are seeing is that the new ECU is off an Astra or similar. It is likely they will need to use Tis 2 Web to program it to be a vx220 / Opel speedster.

Hit me up on pm if you need to talk further.

Cheers

Anth

#3 aquilaproejct

aquilaproejct

    Member

  • Pip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 29 February 2020 - 09:04 AM

G'day Mate,

Sorry to hear about your issues. I'm a Holden Engineer (for the next few months) and have talked a fellow kiwi through this already.

The Holden New Zealand dealers have access to the Opel / Vauxhall programming on Tis 2 Web. So while they aren't aware of the car, they do have access to everything they need.

I suspect the problem you are seeing is that the new ECU is off an Astra or similar. It is likely they will need to use Tis 2 Web to program it to be a vx220 / Opel speedster.

Hit me up on pm if you need to talk further.

Cheers

Anth

#4 den7

den7

    Newbie

  • 2 posts
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 29 February 2020 - 10:29 PM

Hi Anth,

 

Thank you for your reply. I've been following the Holden situation and am sorry to hear about your situation also and hope things will go well for you. What you say makes sense and it's good to know they do have access to the appropriate software/tools to reprogam the ECU if this is what it turns out to be the case. My friend has not yet sent back his original ECU, so it might be worth sending both back and getting them to repair the ECU instead of getting the new one. I think he really wanted the car to run and ordered it assuming it would work (wording is a little tricky on the website). I'll have a talk to him today and if it's the case it needs to go to the dealer I will likely PM you as we might need to be quite clear regarding what needs to be done given his previous experience with the dealership.

 

Thanks again,

 

Dennis



#5 aquilaproejct

aquilaproejct

    Member

  • Pip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 01 March 2020 - 01:45 AM

No probs mate. 😀





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ecu, fault codes, reprogramming

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users