Abs Cut-off Switch

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 toreide

toreide

• PipPip
  • 315 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 09:06 PM

Fitted Toyo R888's yesterday. What a revelation. Huge improvement over stock as expected. The only drawback was the ABS giving me the hard pedal over very bumpy stuff.

Posted Image

Solution: Fit ABS cut-off switch.

I have read the various threads and guides, but as a noob I want to be on the safe side before I cut anything. As I have a left-hand drive Speedsters, layout seems opposite to the VX's.

My question is if take of the connector from the ABS ecu, expose the wires, pick the yellow wire I can see in there ( amongst a million others of various colours :blink: ), install switch - is this correct?

pic 1:
Posted Image

pic2:
Posted Image

#2 ChazUwe

ChazUwe

Scary Internerd

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,450 posts
  • Interests:Cars, Computers, Drinking and travelling about.

Posted 04 April 2007 - 09:41 PM

Yes that is correct. I just used a spade connector on mine. Tracked on monday for the first time without ABS enabled and it really is so much better :) Obviously make sure you only connect/disconnect it with the ignition off :P

#3 toreide

toreide

• PipPip
  • 315 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 10:02 PM

Thanks!

#4 Muncher

Muncher

Scary Internerd

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,494 posts

Posted 06 April 2007 - 12:52 AM

I am so annoyed with my ABS I'm going to fit another cutoff switch in the cabin and have it turned off in all dry weather.

#5 Gary Broad

Gary Broad

• Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 06 April 2007 - 01:51 AM

I am so annoyed with my ABS I'm going to fit another cutoff switch in the cabin and have it turned off in all dry weather.

Had my ABS switch fitted by Plans while I was there having the geo sorted and can confirm positive results when switched off!
Seems to be worse when running harder suspension settings and hitting bumps when braking.

#6 Alex Os

Alex Os

• Pip
  • 155 posts