Jump to content


Photo

Radiator Fan Override Switch


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:05 PM

I assume when wiring in a fan override switch, people just take one end to the chassis and the other to the fan relay?

Anyone got any tips on how best to go about this? Where you routed the wiring etc. Where you earthed.

I'll only be running with it for a few months until I fit the corsa top hose and the demontweeks variable temp controller.

#2 techieboy

techieboy

    Supercharger of Doom

  • 22,563 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bedford

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:07 PM

I'd be interested to know whether I could get it to work with one of these Vectra aircon switches I've got here, would fit nicely in place of the now defunct front fog light switch.

#3 vocky

vocky

    vx220 2.5 itb

  • 10,692 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:09 PM

this has to be one of the easiest things to do on a vx220 ......

the negative signal to the fan relay runs below the centre console, simply find the blue/grey wire and connect a switch between it and the chassis, job done :closedeyes:

also mount the switch in the centre console thumbsup

Edited by vocky, 16 June 2011 - 10:10 PM.


#4 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:10 PM

this has to be one of the easiest things to do on a vx220 ......

the negative signal to the fan relay runs below the centre console, simply find the blue/grey wire and connect a switch between it and the chassis, job done :closedeyes:


Ok nice one, I tried searching but even through google I came up with nothing.

Also neil, could I have a cheater and instructions or could you fit one for me :lol:

#5 Nelly Vx

Nelly Vx

    3/3 Of a Queen

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north wales

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:21 PM

I fitted my fan and abs switch on the steering cowl chinky chinky

#6 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:29 PM

I'd be interested to know whether I could get it to work with one of these Vectra aircon switches I've got here, would fit nicely in place of the now defunct front fog light switch.


Exactly, I have a couple of working switches at home as my front fogs are also non existant.

#7 vocky

vocky

    vx220 2.5 itb

  • 10,692 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:36 PM

I fitted the adjustable temp controller on the radiator outlet hose, the wires then go direct to the fusebox, nice and neat - plus it puts more weight at the front of the car rather than the back :lol:

#8 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 18 June 2011 - 11:27 AM

Right. What type of switch am I after? So that when it's flicked one way it's still connected and when the other way it's earthed? Which end am I earthing the end from the ECU or the fan end? Electrics are not my strong point.

#9 -Dab-of-Oppo-

-Dab-of-Oppo-

    Cuntpuffin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nr. Fordingbridge, Hampshire

Posted 18 June 2011 - 12:13 PM

I am not sure what 'center console' method is being discussed above but if you are just wanting a straight on/off control of the fan pretty much any switch will do the job if earthing via the relay block near the fuse box as it won't be carrying any load.

Are you saying you need a switch that has various normally closed pins along with push to make connections?

It's an expensive visually asppealing solution that would probably not be worthwhile for your short term requirement but a Savage motorsport push switch with illuminated fan symbol would look good.

#10 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 18 June 2011 - 12:34 PM

Just bought a 3 pin switch from maplin going to mount it next to the alarm LED. One way the switch is connecting the wire from ecu to fan the other will connect one of the two to earth but which one do I earth and which one do I just leave open?

#11 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 18 June 2011 - 12:39 PM

When I say ecu I mean wherever the wire going to the rear goes and when I say fan I mean wherever the front one is going (possibly the relay?).

#12 Seb.F

Seb.F

    Under Your Bed

  • 6,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Interests:Tech head

Posted 18 June 2011 - 01:31 PM

Nevermind. Done it :P

#13 H1 HWK

H1 HWK

    Need to get Out More

  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgend or Haverfordwest, Wales

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:18 PM

Folks, Due to the high temps last few days, decided to give this a go this afternoon. Untaped the loom that runs under the centre channel, but can't find a blue/grey wire? Most of the wires in the loom look like 1mm thin gauge, not capable of carrying 16amps, but I guess the wire I'm looking for is just a signal wire, not the actual feed...Can someone just confirm the colour/gauge of the wire I need for a fan switch (to ground). Don't want to short something in error :mellow:

Thanks All - enjoy the sunshine!

#14 Muncher

Muncher

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ipswich

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:20 PM

I'll dig out some pics I took the other day, they're not THAT clear but the wire is certainly there.

#15 H1 HWK

H1 HWK

    Need to get Out More

  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgend or Haverfordwest, Wales

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:23 PM

I'll dig out some pics I took the other day, they're not THAT clear but the wire is certainly there.


Cheers Muncher,

Dying to go out for a blast, but don't want to get stuck in traffic and sit there watching the temp gauge climb up towards the 100. It's probably fine, but I'd like to hve the option of kicking in the fan.thumbsup

#16 techieboy

techieboy

    Supercharger of Doom

  • 22,563 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bedford

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:36 PM

It's probably fine,

It's definitely fine. Do you not think Vauxhall would have set the fan start value in the ECU at less than 106C if they thought there was the slightest problem for the engine at that temp?

#17 Muncher

Muncher

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ipswich

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:38 PM

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Splice one wire in using one of those connectors to the switch, the other side of the switch I bolted a wire to gear selector mechanism.

#18 H1 HWK

H1 HWK

    Need to get Out More

  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgend or Haverfordwest, Wales

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:38 PM


It's probably fine,

It's definitely fine. Do you not think Vauxhall would have set the fan start value in the ECU at less than 106C if they thought there was the slightest problem for the engine at that temp?


You're right, time to put the tools back in the garage and go for a blast!

I'll leave the centre channel off and look at it later this evening.:glare:

#19 H1 HWK

H1 HWK

    Need to get Out More

  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgend or Haverfordwest, Wales

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:40 PM

Cheers Muncher, good pics, will see if I can do now thumbsup

#20 Muncher

Muncher

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ipswich

Posted 03 July 2011 - 02:48 PM

As techie said, it's not needed, but it can be useful if you want to cool the car slightly when stuck in heavy traffic, are on a trackday, have a chargecooler fitted or, like me a couple of weeks ago, have the radiator cap fail and have to wait for the entire system to cool down enough to make the 1 mile dash into work :beat:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users