Jump to content


Photo

4 Channel Abs Unit


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 Extrapilot

Extrapilot

    Member

  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Sussex
  • Interests:Aviation, performance fossil fuel burning

Posted 29 January 2020 - 01:31 PM

Hi all, I desperately want to fit a 4 channel unit after another smelly bottom moment with the stupid standard 'frozen pedal' issue. I decided to shell out and buy a Reglin performance one, but Lotus are taking months to supply them. Reglin are brilliant and for the moment have refunded me, but they are now reviewing whether or not to continue to stock this as the manufacturer (Lotus) are so unreliable....any ideas/alternatives particularly if Reglin pull the plug on that option?

Sent from my Lenovo P2a42 using Tapatalk



#2 smiley

smiley

    Thetan level 15

  • 10,143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:04 PM

Go to a lotus dealer, and take an S2 for a testdrive.

Then swap the abs ecu.

 

Lotus ows us for putting that piece of crap 2 channel in there in the first place.

 



#3 Foxy

Foxy

    I love Nev

  • 10,614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:14 PM

Paul at Oakmere generally has them in stock. Should be £500-600



#4 FLD

FLD

    MODERATOR WANNABE

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near nantwich
  • Interests:Tugging my todger.

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:45 PM

Paul at Oakmere generally has them in stock. Should be £500-600

 

:yeahthat:



#5 Extrapilot

Extrapilot

    Member

  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Sussex
  • Interests:Aviation, performance fossil fuel burning

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:47 PM

Sent Oakmere a message and will wait for a reply 👍🏻

Sent from my Lenovo P2a42 using Tapatalk



#6 Foxy

Foxy

    I love Nev

  • 10,614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:48 PM

Sent Oakmere a message and will wait for a reply 👍🏻

Sent from my Lenovo P2a42 using Tapatalk

Best to call him IME !



#7 coldel

coldel

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:50 PM

Are the units plug and play or is there reprogramming needed?



#8 ayresyy

ayresyy

    Super Member

  • PipPip
  • 425 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peterborough

Posted 29 January 2020 - 03:53 PM


You will need a lotus specialist reset with the ‘yellow cable’ to get it going, but it’s literally a 5 min job to fit it.

#9 oblomov

oblomov

    Scary Internerd

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sitting in front of my computer
  • Interests:None

Posted 29 January 2020 - 04:11 PM

Go to a lotus dealer, and take an S2 for a testdrive.

Then swap the abs ecu.

 

Lotus ows us for putting that piece of crap 2 channel in there in the first place.

 

Now you've said it.
 



#10 James96

James96

    Member

  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Cumbria

Posted 29 January 2020 - 05:29 PM

There’s one on eBay for £500



#11 Foxy_Jr

Foxy_Jr

    Super Member

  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire

Posted 29 January 2020 - 06:29 PM

I'm the lucky one who normally pops up there so they can be programed on my car. :rolleyes:

 

If you get it from Podge it will be ready to go so no messing about.



#12 Extrapilot

Extrapilot

    Member

  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Sussex
  • Interests:Aviation, performance fossil fuel burning

Posted 29 January 2020 - 06:32 PM

I have just been offered one ready to go off a VXR so I will try that and hopefully get some braking. I can't understand why Lotus are such a $h17 company and how it's legal to send a car out like that. The two channel ABS is by far worse than zero ABS

Sent from my Lenovo P2a42 using Tapatalk



#13 Rosssco

Rosssco

    Scary Internerd

  • 4,115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen

Posted 29 January 2020 - 06:37 PM

I have just been offered one ready to go off a VXR so I will try that and hopefully get some braking. I can't understand why Lotus are such a $h17 company and how it's legal to send a car out like that. The two channel ABS is by far worse than zero ABS

Sent from my Lenovo P2a42 using Tapatalk

 

Probably as legit to blame Vauxhall as they are the ones who would have signed the car off :lol:



#14 Extrapilot

Extrapilot

    Member

  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Sussex
  • Interests:Aviation, performance fossil fuel burning

Posted 29 January 2020 - 06:48 PM

In the aviation world this wouldn't have been approved, and I it had, and was subsequently identified as an accident factor, the company would have had to implement a mandatory service directive (essentially fix it) although often not for free. Point is the car is actually dangerous with the standard 2 channel system

Sent from my Lenovo P2a42 using Tapatalk



#15 coldel

coldel

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond

Posted 30 January 2020 - 08:38 PM

I'm the lucky one who normally pops up there so they can be programed on my car. :rolleyes:

 

If you get it from Podge it will be ready to go so no messing about.

 

Who is Podge? He provides a plug and play version that requires no ECU work?



#16 Foxy_Jr

Foxy_Jr

    Super Member

  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire

Posted 30 January 2020 - 08:55 PM



I'm the lucky one who normally pops up there so they can be programed on my car. :rolleyes:

If you get it from Podge it will be ready to go so no messing about.


Who is Podge? He provides a plug and play version that requires no ECU work?


Podge is the very helpful parts manager at Oakmere Lotus. He’s run a group buy for these in the past.
He tries to supply the units programmed, but you need the unit to be fitted to a car to achieve this. On an Elise the module is a right PITA to get to, wheel arch liner off or maybe even a clam off job, on the VX it’s readily accessible. As I’m local and for a bit of back scratching, I’ve been over a number of times so they can be programmed on my car before they are sent to his customers.
Not entirely sure what they do with the mystical yellow lead but it seems to work!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#17 hairy

hairy

    Moonlander

  • 5,504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol
  • Interests:cars, beer, nature

Posted 31 January 2020 - 07:57 AM

Any Lotus dealer should be able to do it although my local needed a bit of pointing on what to do.



#18 smiley

smiley

    Thetan level 15

  • 10,143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 31 January 2020 - 07:59 AM

Litterally pointing them to the yellow lead helps to get a good start.

That is because it is an S1 lead, and does not make sense to use it when you are not in the know.

 



#19 FLD

FLD

    MODERATOR WANNABE

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near nantwich
  • Interests:Tugging my todger.

Posted 31 January 2020 - 09:20 AM

The 'job' with the yellow lead is simply to reset the unit which takes at most 5 min.  The majority of that time is plugging in / turning on the car etc.

 

My car has been the slave to previous group buys too.  It appears Foxy Jr and I are podges bitches.



#20 coldel

coldel

    Need to get Out More

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond

Posted 31 January 2020 - 09:36 AM

Had a quick nose and two closest dealers to me (under 30 mins away) are Bell & Colvill Surrey and HR Owen in Acton. Presume both could plug their special yellow lead in? Presume B&C would be very knowledgable of this?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users