Photo

Timing Chain Disaster.

• Please log in to reply
156 replies to this topic

#1 AliM

AliM

insert humour here

• 9,146 posts
  • Interests:playing cars and general mischief.

Posted 07 September 2009 - 06:45 PM

Following the death of my car mid North Wales run yesterday, i've had the cover off and unfortunately my timing chain has snapped, it's an 02 plate with 67k on. later this week the car will be going into a garage, get the clam off and have a look at the full extent of the damage. Clearly I am no mechanical wizz so I was wondering what the possibilities/options are for sorting this out. Am i right in thinking that best case scenario i'm looking at new chain kit and valves? worst case is an engine swap? What i really need to know is, is it just part of the engine I'd have to swap or is it a whole new lump? If anyone has any experience with this, any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks guys and gals.

#2 Zoobeef

Zoobeef

Joes bedroom assistant.

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,103 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 06:54 PM

This depends on quite a few things, easiest would prob be if you can find a new engine for cheap as then you can just swap it and jobs a good un, altho you may want to do the chain on the new one while its out so its done and you wont need to worry in the future. If you dont want to change then you can get a new head with valves and stuff already in then put that on, but this is hoping theres no damage to your pistons or anything else, with this too you would need a head gasket kit and head bolt? (not sure if there stretch ones) cam chain kit and maybe new oil jet kit as if its not done it may be why it snapped. I'll add more things as i think of them

#3 Zagadka

Zagadka

• Pip
  • 99 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 06:56 PM